May 26, 2011

45 cadets graduate from MCJA

20th Basic Law Enforcement Training Program graduation

By Katy England
edge staff writer

VASSALBORO – After 18 weeks of intense training, the 20th Basic Law Enforcement Training Program cadets graduated on May 13 at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro.
45 cadets walked across the stage after having their badge pinned to their uniform, signifying the transition from cadet to law enforcement officer.
Director John Rogers took time to acknowledge the retirement of Sgt. Joe Poirier, but named the Professionalism Proficiency Award after him. He also dedicated one of the rooms at the academy the Frank E. “Joe” Poirier Room, with the quotation “Who protects us” inscribed upon it.

Class awards were issued to cadets who excelled in various fields. Officer Caleb McGary of the University of Maine Public Safety was named class valedictorian and issued the Academic Proficiency Award, Combined Practical Skills Proficiency Award, the Professionalism Proficiency Award and the Randall Parsons Iron-Man Award; Officer Bryan J. Parker of the Auburn Police Department and Troopers Kyle D. Pelletier and Samuel D. Quintana were tied for the Sid Bridges Firearms Proficiency Award; Officer Dennis Matthews of the Auburn Police Department received the Emergency Vehicle Operation Course Proficiency Award; Trooper Benjamin K. Sweeney of the Maine State Police received the Charles How IV Physical Fitness Award; and Trooper Jillian M. Monahan of the Maine State Police and Officer Bryan J. Parker of the Auburn Police Department shared the Mechanics of Arrest, Restraint and Control Proficiency Award.
The cadets stay at the Academy Monday through Friday, returning to their homes across the state on weekends for the duration of the training.

The graduates are listed below.

David L. Arsenault, Knox County Sheriff’s Office
Christopher R. Baez, Maine State Police
Matthew P. Bell, Biddeford Police Department
Reid C. Bond, Maine State Police
Tucker L. Bonnevie, Maine State Police
Kristie A. Bouchard, Brewer Police Department
Robert W. Carr, York County Sheriff’s Office
Brent A. Chasse, Maine Marine Patrol
David Coflesky, Maine State Police
Nicholas D. D’Angelo, Maine State Police
Wayne H. Drake, Farmington Police Department
Joshua R. Engroff, Baileyville Police Department
Duane K. Fay, York County Sheriff’s Office
Thomas P. Ferrier, Boothbay Harbor Police Department
Troy R. Francis, Penobscot Nation Warden Service
Ryan W. Freeman, Bangor Police Department
Scott R. Hendee, Biddeford Police Department
Christopher M. Kelley, Portland Police Department
Thomas W. Kwok, Maine State Police
Cody E. Laite, Camden Police Department
Ryan D. Lawson, Mount Desert Police Department
Michelle E. Legare, Fryeburg Police Department
Heath L. Mains, Saco Police Department
Paul M. Mason, Maine State Police
Dennis V. Matthews, Auburn Police Department
Kyle S. McDonald, MCJA Tuition Student
Caleb H. McGary, University of Maine Public Safety
Todd W. McGee, Cumberland County Sheriff’s Office
Jillian M. Monahan, Maine State Police
Matthew W. Moorhouse, Freeport Police Department
Eddie H. Murphy, Sanford Police Department
Benjamin J. Murtiff, Augusta Police Department
Todd D. Nyberg, Augusta Police Department
Bryan J. Parker, Auburn Police Department
Kyle D. Pelletier, Maine State Police
Brandon P. Perry, Windham Police Department
Jonathan D. Provisor, Auburn Police Department
Eric P. Quatrano, Windham Police Department
David L. Quinn, Penobscot County Sheriff’s Office
Samuel D. Quintana, Maine State Police
Christopher T. Schofield, South Portland Police Department
Andrew M. Simmons, Augusta Police Department
Jason T. St. John, Westbrook Police Department
Benjamin K. Sweeney, Maine State Police
Kyle M. Wells, Maine State Police

No comments:

Post a Comment